Snickerdoodle Blondies

Anyone that ever cooks or bakes or has at least one mouth to feed can relate to this dilemma: What to make when you just can’t possibly run to the grocery store for the zillionth time. I opened every drawer, peaked behind every box. Just when I came close to giving up on the idea of making dessert the same night I made dinner, I ran across a recipe for snickerdoodle blondies. a) Love snickerdoodles. b) Love blondies. Insert something about when a is b and b is c then a is c and c is snickerdoodle blondies. I keep repeating myself here, but if only you could reach through these pictures and smell my kitchen you might begin to understand.

Let’s get right to the point.

Ingredients:

Don’t you just love the colors of farm-fresh organic eggs? I save the prettiest ones for making fried eggs, but they all taste delicious. Anyway here’s what you need!

2-2/3 cups all purpose flour

2 TEASPOONS baking powder

1 cup unsalted butter at room temperature

1 teaspoon salt (or substitute by using 1/2 cup salted and 1/2 cup unsalted butter like I did)

2 teaspoons cinnamon

A dash or two of ground nutmeg (optional)

2 cups brown sugar, packed

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For the top:

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

I got off to a bad start on this recipe (slip of the baking soda), but everything turned out fine so not to fret! Preheat the oven to 350. Lightly grease a 9×13 pan and set it off to the side. Get out a medium bowl for the flour, salt (if using all unsalted butter), baking powder, and cinnamon. Whisk it up, I like a french whisk over a balloon one.

Move over to your handy mixer (whether handheld or electric) and drop in your room temp butter and packed brown sugar. Put it on a medium setting for around five minutes just until it’s creamy. I was getting a little dizzy watching it go ’round and ’round.

Add in your eggs one at a time then last add the vanilla extract. Not to be redundant, but you can see how smooth it should look before pouring it into your greased pan.

Scrape every last bit into your mouth, I mean pan. Then in a small bowl mix together the sugar and cinnamon to sprinkle over the top of the whole thing.

25-30 minutes at 350 does the trick. The top should bounce back a little to the touch. I would tell you to let them cool all the way before cutting, but who am I kidding. A glass of milk and a fork is really all you need.

No joke, the second this thing pops into the hot oven you will have to tear your nose away from the kitchen it smells so delicious. Usually I’m a chocolaholic, but whoever can turn down the unbeatable combination of cinnamon and sugar has far more willpower than I do! After eating one myself, I brought a couple over to my friends Sam and Hanna and also one for Sam’s foreign exchange student Nikolaus. He doesn’t speak much English but he understood the words: eat, sugar, and yum! I meant to snap a pic but in my excitement over bringing someone something fresh from the oven, forgot to grab the camera. Anyway, the irony wasn’t lost on me that Nikolaus is here enjoying my baking while Ali is only three hours away from Frankfurt! I bet they like Snickerdoodle Blondies in Frankfurt, too…

-Greta

{recipe adapted from browneyedbaker, thanks!}

Leave a Reply

