Southern peach cobbler

Yay, I’m finally baking in Germany! I went to the grocery store for the first time by myself and bought ingredients to make a peach cobbler. This recipe doesn’t require many ingredients, and they are all very easy to find in America. In Germany, on the other hand, that is a different story. I couldn’t find self-rising flour, but I do happen to know how to make it using all-purpose flour, baking powder, and salt (I recommend learning how to do this. It’s a very handy trick!). So then I had to locate baking powder (which would be Backpulver), and that took me quite a while! They don’t sell it in a container; they sell it in packets, and the packets come in a pack of seven or so. Very odd. I’m starting to catch on to the fact that German baking and American baking are two very different concepts.

I would also like to point out that three peaches cost 78 cents in Germany. When I first made this recipe back home, I bought five peaches and it cost me just over five dollars. How ridiculous.

This recipe is in two parts: the cobbler and the fruit.

Ingredients for the cobbler:

– 1/2 cup of butter (one stick)

– 1 cup of granulated sugar

– 3/4 cup of self-rising flour

– 3/4 cup of milk

Ingredients for the fruit:

– 1 28-ounce can of peaches in heavy syrup

OR

– 2 cups of fresh, sliced peaches

– 1 cup of sugar

– 1 cup of water

(I know the picture of the ingredients won’t make much sense to almost all of you. I just feel odd not including a picture. But hey, you can see the foreign words and packaging!)

You will also need about 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, for sprinkling on top.

Step One: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Step Two: Put the butter in a 9×13 baking dish. Put it in the oven and remove it when the butter has melted. Set it aside for now.

Step Three: If using canned peaches in syrup, you can skip steps three and four. Otherwise, peel and cut your peaches into slices.

Step Four: Put your sliced peaches along with the water and sugar into an appropriate-sized saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and let the peaches simmer for ten minutes.

Step Five: This step is for the cobbler. In a mixing bowl, combine the self-rising flour and sugar. Then stir in the milk. The batter should be a little lumpy.

Step Six: Pour the batter on top of the melted butter. Don’t worry if it looks rather gross at this point; it will all come together in the end.

Step Seven: When the peaches are done simmering, spoon the peaches evenly onto the flour/butter mixture, then pour the liquid right on top of the peaches. Do not mix everything together! I know it’s tempting, but like I said, it will all come together in the end.

If you are using peaches in a can, just pour the contents of the can onto the flour/butter mixture. And don’t mix it all together!

Step Eight: Sprinkle cinnamon over the top. Do not forget the cinnamon!!! This is my second time making this recipe, and both times I had already put the cobbler in the oven before I remembered that I had to add cinnamon. I even forgot to buy cinnamon at the grocery store. Fortunately for me, my friend’s dad volunteered to go and get it.

Sorry, Zimt.

Step Nine: Put the cobbler in the oven and bake for 35-45 minutes. The batter will rise to the top and make an amazing crust (otherwise that self-rising flour wouldn’t be doing its job, now would it).

This cobbler is delicious. Seriously, try the recipe. I couldn’t take my eyes off of the oven the entire time it was baking.

Enjoy!

– Ali

(Recipe found at Mama’s Southern Cooking.)

Leave a Reply

